Whenever you are charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is important that you think on your feet and act fast. One of the most important things you need to do is hire a criminal defense attorney. This is especially important because the attorney will walk you through your legal options, and will work hard to get you free from the charges. Not only that, he will also try to find out if there are any loopholes and plan a defense strategy. To learn more about how a defense attorney can help, schedule a free consultation today. Learn how to bring your foreign-born fiance(é) to the U.S. by applying for a K-1 visa.
Criminal charges in New Jersey:
It is important to note that if you are living in New Jersey, and you have charges for criminal activities, the criminal charges are classified into two types: indictable crimes (felonies) punishable by at least one year in jail and disorderly/petty disorderly person offenses (misdemeanors) punishable by less severe penalties.
The severity is further divided into four levels, which determine the potential punishment and fines. First-degree indictable charges, for example, can result in up to 20 years in jail, although stealing can result in a fourth-degree disorderly person violation with a fine.
What are disorderly persons offenses?
An important fact is that disorderly persons offenses are handled in Municipal Court without a jury trial. It honestly depends on the nature of the criminal activity. If you have been charged with property theft, criminal mischief, simple assault, shoplifting, and marijuana possession, then you may have to pay a $1,000 fine and six months in jail. In some cases, you may also be given community service, court expenses, probation, and a two-year driver’s license suspension.
What are indictable crimes?
Indictable crimes are usually graded according to the nature of their seriousness. Murder and rape are first-degree offenses, while sex offenses and drug crimes are second-degree charges. Arson and some robberies will fall under third-degree offenses, and stalking and forgery are fourth-degree offenses. Burglary is a second-degree indictable offense. If one is charged with robbery, it is punishable by up to ten years in jail and a $15,000 fine.
No matter what the charges against you are, you will have a better chance of representing your case with the help of a criminal defense attorney by your side in New Jersey. So, do not delay for too long and reach out to an attorney right away.